Archaeological Survey in Hominy, Oklahoma

Hello Reader,

Yesterday I participated in an archaeological survey located in Hominy, Oklahoma. I was joined by my archaeological professor and research mentor, Dr. Donald O. Henry (University of Tulsa), and graduate students Colleen and Veronica. I am a second year undergraduate at the University of Tulsa. This was my first time participating in an archaeological survey. It is very rare that undergraduates get the opportunity to participate in such activities, let alone in any field work for that matter. I feel very privileged to have been given such an opportunity.

My Personal Conjecture:
I think it is crucial that every individual who aspires to become an archaeologist briefly participate in all aspects that the occupation entails. Archaeology is not all “fun and games”, incredible discoveries and notoriety do not “just happen”, one has to start out small, conduct the necessary preparatory tasks, and not only work for, but earn one’s advancement. By carrying out the commonly considered “less desirable” duties of archaeology, one may discover that there is no longer a desire to pursue the field or contrarily the experience may further heighten one’s interest in the field. I heavily believe that it is also essential that the individual is cognizant of how archaeology can be implemented as a whole field of study and that archaeology is not only the perpetration of researching and studying information in textbooks (that would be more closely related to a history major), archaeology is exceptionally more complex in character. It is the individual’s imperative obligation to unravel how archaeology is defined, what it divulges unto them, and how it unanimously affects humanity altogether.

On A More Frolicsome Note:
I did learn some additional knowledge while on and ensuing this archaeological survey. I composed a list of supplementary realizations that I found to be vital:

1. Claritin
I felt like I was going to die due to my allergies; not to mention I felt extremely uncomfortable the entire time.
2. Boots, thick socks, or long thick pants
I have the faintest idea of how many itchy fragments of plant matter I got stuck in my socks.
3. Hat
It is too hard to scan the ground with sunglasses on, therefore a hat provides sun protection as well as increases one’s analytic accuracy.
2. G.P.S.
It’s very easy to get lost out there and it is easier to base the coordinates that are to be recorded from a device rather than a map and it is also far more accurate.
3. Gloves
After about give/take the 10th hole is dug your hand are rather sore, I used construction gloves.
4. Enjoyment
It is important that you enjoy what you are doing. Yes, walking back-and-forth for miles staring at the ground doesn’t sound all that entertaining, but the more vivacious you are, the faster time goes by. It is also helpful when you are working with people whom’s company you find enticing.

Below are some pictures I took during the survey:

Yours truly sporting the evermore so attractive archaeological attire

<

Me and some horses that were on the property. Their beauty was rather distracting, but they made for exceptional entertainment.

I felt car sick due to Colleen’s fabulous California driving (if you read this Colleen, don’t kill me..)

Horses

Colleen (graduate student) with the horses.

A small section of the area in which we surveyed. Hominy, Oklahoma

Map of Hominy, Oklahoma

Thanks for reading! And don’t forget…DIG LIKE A CHAMPION TODAY!
Ashley Brown

10 responses to “Archaeological Survey in Hominy, Oklahoma

  1. “I think it is crucial that every individual who aspires to become an archaeologist briefly participate in all aspects that the occupation entails.”

    You’re dead on correct here, Ashley. Gotta get the nuts and bolts tight before you can get the most out of the ride….

    Can’t even imagine what a survey must be like in a prairie stretch like Hominy, but I did pay my dues over a couple of summers in a dreary, hot as hell, Neolithic pit cairn in Kenya. Pulled an excerpt from book on the archaeological fun here:

    http://jackcamel.com/2011/01/ok-we-have-a-website/

    Keep up the posts!

  2. Thank you!

    Yes, Hominy is not what I would consider an ideal location, but experience is experience and I will take what I can get. I my self am primarily focused on the Neolithic as well. Kenya sounds a lot more interesting than Oklahoma. ha ha. Last summer I had an internship with the Hebrew University of Jerusalem regarding the site Ein Gev II. Sadly my university deemed my travel a liability considering the revolutions sprouting up and dropped my funds. But I remain optimistic and plan to go on a dig in Southern Jordan. It is a Natufian site and has yet to be excavated. Needless to say, I am extremely excited.

    And thanks for the link. I found multiple topics that peaked mt interest.

    • @Jennifer
      ha ha. Well I indeed had pants tucked into my socks. However that would be the second pair of pants I was wearing under my ever so fashionable brush pants. It was fairly cold out and layers of close was necessary. Sadly I still got pesky fragments of plants in my socks which itched all…day…long.. 7 hours of fun (insert satire).

      I was wondering what your thoughts (good & bad) were about your first dig. Also more information on the dig in general. I plan to go on my first big excavation this April/May in Southern Jordan. It is a Natufian site that has yet to be excavated. I am very excited, but nervous as well. I really want to leave the professors with a good impression..

      Thanks for the response, I look forward to reading your posts!

  3. Pingback: Final Project: Archaeology and the Age of Technology | Introduction to Digital Humanities·

  4. Pingback: Archaeology and the Age of Technology « AmiraZara·

  5. I think this is one of the most significant info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  6. whoah this blog is magnificent i love reading your articles. Keep up the good work! You know, a lot of people are hunting around for this info, you could help them greatly.

Leave a Reply

